Sold Out

Postage Stamps by AIGA Medalists


This product is sold out

Since 1920 the American Institute of Graphic Arts has been awarding its AIGA Medals “to individuals who have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design.” To date, 155 designers have been awarded Medals; only a handful have designed government-issued postage stamps. This is their story.

Postage Stamps by AIGA Medalists contains seventy-six full-color illustrations, reproducing every known stamp designed by an AIGA Medalist (with the exception of Bradbury Thompson for whom only a handful of his 100+ stamps are shown). Also shown are related items by Bruce Rogers, Jan Tschichold, and Saul Steinberg. A brief essay by Michael Russem explains why these stamps are relevant to graphic designers and how they fit into the history of (mostly) American postage stamp design in the twentieth century.

The stamp designers include Josef Albers, Leonard Baski, Saul Bass, Herbert Bayer, Lester Beall, Lucian Bernhard, Ivan Chermayeff, Seymour Chwast, Thomas M. Cleland, Charles Coiner, Paul Davis, W.A. Dwiggins, Alvin Eisenman, Thomas Geismar, Milton Glaser, April Greiman, Rudolph de Harak, Armin Hofmann, Herb Lubalin, Georg Olden, Chris Pullman, Rudolph Ruzicka, Bradbury Thompson, George Tscherny

The third book of The Kat Ran Essays in Philatelics, a series meant to focus on the overlooked philatelic work of type and graphic designers.

Design and typography by Michael Russem

Published by Kat Ran Press
First edition, 2013

28 pages, self-covered, full-color, 8 × 9 inches

ISBN 978-0-9794342-4-2